Wrap-Up | March

I’ve been a bit quiet here lately. University work is currently taking priority over everything else at the moment, so I’m not as active here as I would’ve liked. And that pretty much sums up my reading at the moment! But I’ll still try and keep you updated with how things are going at least once a week, because I’m nice like that.

~

On with the post! And I didn’t have such a successful reading month, but still managed five books – half what I’d planned. So, what did I get through in March?

~

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

You might have seen my my last Wrap-Up and my TBR that I was working through this series from this *bloody* brilliant author. I must admit to have been a little underwhelmed by A Darker Shade of Magic, but thought I’d carry on anyway and I am so glad I did! This second installment continues to follow Kell and Lila on their adventures through the Londons, but this time there are magical pirates and a magical tournament and it’s all magical (did I mention magical?). The story starts to take a more violent twist too, and Schwab builds the tension superbly. And so, as I knew I would have to, I went ahead and ordered the next book and immediately started devouring it after this one.

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

I am glad I started reading this trilogy now and not as soon as the first books came out, because I’m not sure I would’ve been able to cope with waiting after the end of Shadows. And I was not disappointed. The best of the three, A Conjuring of Light brings together everything you want from the last book in a beloved series. I’m not sure I’ve mentioned previously about the humour in these books, but it’s there with a gentle touch throughout to help you make it through the darkness and the emotions evoked. I’m probably going to do a series review for these books so you get a full picture of my thoughts – so keep a look out.

The Passion of New Eve by Angela Carter

You may have seen my recent Discussion post about Angela Carter, where I talk a little about Eve. As with all Carter, you never know what you’re going to find or experience as you go through the volume and I was left both awed and shaken and, at times, pretty confused. It’s an interesting read – one that definitely invites further study – so I’ll definitely be going back to it at some point in the future.

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

My full review for this gorgeous book can be found here. Short review: go get it. Go. Buy it now. Why are you still reading this? Go. Come back later. Then we can talk about the book.

The ABCs of LGBT+ by Ashley Mardell

I read this as part of a university project and partly for my own curiosity. I’ve learned a lot about the variances in the LGBTQ+ community over the past few years, and this gives an overview that’s a little more comprehensive than random internet searches. The inclusion of personal testimonials and stories is a nice touch, to help you contextualise some of the topics covered (the variation in gender can get very confusing, so this was helpful). On more of a ‘publisher’ note, the layout was, I must admit, pretty weird in places, and there are some obvious typos scattered throughout, but that’s more something I just noticed, rather than being a distraction. I managed to read this in a Sunday afternoon, making it a nice, light and easy-to-read book.

~

I also picked up Juno Dawson’s All of the Above to read this month. Sadly, after twenty pages, I had to DNF it. It got me pretty angry, if I’m being completely honest, as some of the phrasing and dialogue of her main character was just plain offensive as far as I was concerned. I instantly disliked the main character, instantly hated the setting and the set-up of the story and to have these throwaway comments against people with learning disabilities, chronic illnesses (I myself suffer from ME) and suicide just made me very unhappy and uncomfortable. Whether this changes throughout the novel and the character learns to change her obnoxious ways, I do not know and probably never will. Never have I wanted to throw a book in the bin so badly.

~

That’s everything I read this month. I’m also partly through the audiobook of Margaret Atwood’s The Robber Bride, about forty pages into My Policeman by Bethan Roberts and I’m halfway through the Arthur C. Clarke shortlisted The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers.

I probably won’t be doing another TBR post, as I found that I like to read to how I’m feeling, and some of the books I put on that list just didn’t fit at all. It was worth giving it a try, and I did stick to it (ish), but TBR lists just aren’t for me.

If you have any recommendations of other kinds of posts you’d like me to do, let me know. I’m thinking a bookshelf tour? I have a lot we can go through! And of course, tell me what books you’ve read in March and maybe what you’re planning on reading next 🙂

Leave a Reply

