Monthly TBR | March

As I’m a little behind on my monthly reading targets to reach the massive goal I set myself in January, I’m going to try and get through ten books in March. Hopefully, this shouldn’t be too much of a challenge, and I’m forging ahead with a TBR list so I can manage it more effectively.

Here are the books I’m planning on reading this month.

~

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

I’m nearly finished with this sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic and I am getting the feeling that cliffhangers are about to happen. I am absolutely loving this instalment – significantly better than the first! – which is why I may have ordered the next book ready to dive straight in…

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Yes. Diving straight in will be happening. Got to wait for delivery though. Boo.

Parrotfish by Ellen Wittlinger

This, like many books on my TBR this month, are part of a project I’m working on for university around LGBTQ+ books. It’s a YA novel that follows a transgender character as he tries to navigate his life through transition.

The Passion of New Eve by Angela Carter

The Bloody Chamber collection of short stories introduced me to Carter’s writing and I’ve been meaning to read this for a while. It’s exploration of gender and sexuality works well for my project, as well as, I hope, being a dark and intelligent read. It’s also not too long, which is a bonus.

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson

The fictional account of Winterson’s upbringing, this is a classic for many people that I’m sure is going to pack a hell of an emotional punch.

The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood

An audiobook to keep me company on the drives to and from university. I love Atwood, and I’m super excited to listen to this fairytale retelling.

The ABCs of LGBT+ by Ashley Mardell

A fun and frank exploration of the spectrum of gender identity and sexual orientation from YouTuber Mardell. It discusses the various identities to help young people, as well as parents and teachers, to understand what it means to be LGBT+ today.

My Policeman by Bethan Roberts

Set in Brighton in the 1950s, this novel follows a young policeman and the schoolteacher who falls in love with him, even though he’s in love with someone else. I saw this recommended on Booktube and thought it’d definitely be an interesting one to pick up for my project.

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Winner of the Costa Book of the Year 2016, I picked up this gorgeous hardcover in my local indie bookshop and wanted to devour it straight away. I’ve held off, but not sure I can wait much longer! And, as an added bonus, it features gay protagonists too. Perfect.

All of the Above by Juno Dawson

A tale of young love centred around a bisexual teen and her friends. Trying to find positive, open books about bisexuality is actually incredibly difficult (which I may have to rant about at some point soon), so to find this from the wonderful Dawson made my day. Can’t wait to get stuck in.

~

Those are the ten books I’ll be attempting to get through this month – maybe I can cram a few more if I really push myself. There’s only one audiobook on this list, but I’m sure I could squeeze in one more. We’ll just see how it goes!

What are you all planning to read this month? Have you read any titles on my list? Let me know, I’d love to hear from you. And if you’d like to know more about the project I’m working on, let me know and I’ll do a post discussing it for you all 🙂

Leave a Reply

