Wrap-Up | February

After a pretty impressive start to the year in terms of reading volume, I’ve had a bit of a slump this month. There’s been a huge amount going on, from work to health issues, and I just haven’t had the drive to get much reading done.

I’ll be aiming to change that in March, as I have some serious catching up to do! With that in mind, keep your eyes open for a TBR post I’ll be doing. I tend not to plan what books I want to read in a month – I like to just see how I feel as I go along – but I have SO MANY books to read and a pretty hefty target to reach by the end of the year, that maybe planning it out will help me along.

So, without further ado, what did I actually read in February?

~

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I’m a real fan of Schwab’s writing, but had yet to pick up her most popular titles until the beginning of this month. I have to admit, I was a little underwhelmed reading this one, having loved Vicious and This Savage Song so much and seeing all the hype surrounding this series. Kell and Lila were nice enough, and the magic is clever with the multiple Londons a really nice twist, but I just wasn’t as blown away as I expected to be.

However, I can reveal that I am halfway through the second book, A Gathering of Shadows, right now and I finally get it. Like, I completely get it. Holy macaroni. But more on that next month!

Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

You can see my full-length, spoiler-free review of Golden Boy here. To keep it simple, this book is an eye-opening read that takes you into the heart of complex family drama and sexuality. This book is going to stay with me for a very, very long time.

Wonderbook by Jeff VanderMeer

I needed to give myself a little boost in the creative pants this month, and Wonderbook was exactly the book to do it. Unlike any other creative writing guide, it’s filled with beautiful illustrations, detailed advice from authors, a good splash of humour and some really excellent writing exercises that get you thinking. I’m not usually a big fan of these kinds of things, but I have been recommending Wonderbook to pretty much every writer I know as an invaluable tool! Seriously, go get it.

~

And that’s it! Very short and sweet. My target for March is to read ten books to balance out this deficit and get back on track. I slipped with audiobooks too, so I’ll be stocking up on a few of them too.

How was your reading month? What have you guys been up to? I’d love to hear from you 🙂

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

