Readathon | The Reading Quest

The wonderful Catriona at Little Book Owl has introduced me, yet again, to an awesome new readathon to try! I’ve loved doing readathons this year, but haven’t had much chance recently to take part. This new one, however, sounds like a perfect way to get some major reading done!

~

The Reading Quest from Read at Midnight is a blending of readathon and videogame challenges. Running from 13th August to the 10th September, this is a long-running quest where you get to pick a character profile and follow a path along awesome reading challenges. There are even side-quests and ways to build EXP and HP for a chance to win a prize at the end!

For loads more information explaining how the Quest works, you can follow the link here to the full page of Ts and Cs. Alongside all this, there are the lovely character and bingo card designs from CW of Read, Think, Ponder which are so adorable and I want badges (just saying!).

~

So, for my attempt at the quest, I have chosen the Mage character path to start from:

MAGE: As wielders of spells and witchcraft, these players will conjure and summon their way through the First Down path on the quest. Their tomes contain magic and whispers of alternate lands.

And I’ve made the following TBR to meet the challenges. I’ve listed a book for every challenge, just so I’m prepared, but I am pretty flipping sure there is no way I’ll be able to read all of these!

  • A book with a one-word title : Armada by Ernest Cline
  • A book that contains magic: The Court of Broken Knives by Anna Smith Spark
  • A book based on mythology: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  • A book set in a different world: The Waking Land by Callie Bates
  • (Starts the Knight path!) The first book of a series: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Adieh
  • A book with a verb in its title: Making Cocoa for Kingsley Amis by Wendy Cope
  • A book with a weapon on its cover: Flame in the Mist by Renee Adieh
  • A book with a red cover: Norwegian Wood  by Haruki Murakami
  • (Starts the Bard path!) A book that has a TV/movie adaptation: Deathnote Vol II by Tsugumi Ohba, art by Takeshi Obata
  • A fairytale retelling: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
  • A book cover with striking typography: New Boy by Tracey Chevalier
  • A book translated from another language: One Night, Markovitch by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen, translated by Sondra Silverston
  • (Starts the Rogue path!) A banned book: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  • A book with a partly obscured face: The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry
  • A book with < 500 Goodreads ratings: The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember
  • A book published by a small press: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

And for the side quests, which can be done at any time, I have picked:

  • Animal Companion – Book referencing an animal in the title: H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald
  • Open World – Any book of your choice: Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman

reading-quest-board1

~

Phew! That’s a lot of books!

As I said, I know I am not going to be able to read all of them (at least, I don’t think so…), but it’s nice to have all this in place on the off-chance that I really power down and work through them! There’s also a chance a couple of these books might change around a bit, especially if I know I’m not going to get to a certain point in the Quest, but know there’s a book I can switch in if I need to.

Let me know if you fancy taking part, and follow the links at the beginning of this post if you do so you can share in the awesomeness!

 

Feature Image: Designed by CW from Read, Think, Ponder for Aentee at Read at Midnight  for the purposes of The Reading Quest. Image cannot be used outside of The Reading Quest

Leave a Reply

