Wrap-Up | July

After another very busy month, I only managed a total of four books in July. I am pretty far behind my target for the year, but I’m hoping that now I’ll be taking a lot more train journeys and with some big pushes I can still make it to 100 by the end of the year! 

So, onto the books I read this month 

~

The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

You may have seen that I am now a huge fan of this ya fantasy series. I’m nearly finished with the final book. I’ve loved every twisting moment and am so excited for the follow-on trilogy that Stievfater is writing. The whole series has remained surprising and wonderful, encompassing well-drawn, complex characters and an intriguing plot. 

Maus by Art Spiegelman

The famous graphic novel about the Holocaust, Maus is one of the most incredible reads. It changes your view of humanity drastically, and pulls you into a family’s life that was filled with tragedy but also a kind of hope. I’m hoping to write up all my thoughts and some point soon, but I will say for now that it is a necessary read we should all have on our shelves. 

The Cows by Dawn O’Porter 

I’ve posted a full review this week, which you can check out here. I wasn’t a fan of this one, for a variety of reasons. Trying to do too much with actually very little substance sums it up. 

~

That’s my very short post on the books I’ve read in July. Fingers crossed for an August full of literary goodies! 

How has your reading been? Have you read anything I’ve listed? I’d love to hear from you, so let me know down below! 

Leave a Reply

