Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

I might be a little late for this tag as it is already way past the halfway mark for 2017, but I feel like it can still work, right?!

With all the crazy things happening over these last few months, I’m a bit behind on my reading goal of 100 books this year, but I’m hoping I can start getting back into it and reading so much more. I have some great books on my shelf to get through and they NEED to be read.

With that in mind, I’ve already read some fab books this year. This tag is gunna be tricky…

~

Best Book You’ve Read so Far?

I have read some freaking awesome books so far this year, and all of them amazing for different reasons. But the one that’s really captured my heart would have to be Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (please try and act surprised about that one!).

Best Sequel You’ve Read so Far?

Okay – it’s definitely a Schwab book… but which one?!

I’m going to go for Our Dark Duet, the sequel to This Savage Song. I absolutely adored the first one when I read it last year, and it definitely turned me to V.E. Scwhab’s writing. The follow-up is just as dark, beautiful and heart-breaking, and I will keep August and Kate’s story with me for a very long time.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To?

Hm… I think I’ll have to go with Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller. Because pirates.

Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2017?

Tin Man by Sarah Winman. It comes out next week and I have heard such incredible things about it, I need it in my life!

Biggest Disappointment?

I’ve been quite lucky with my reading this year, so there’s nothing that stands out as being *disappointing*. I guess there was that one book I threw across the room after twenty pages… but we won’t talk about that.

Biggest Surprise?

I picked up a tiny little volume in my local Book Barn called Silk by Alessandro Baricco. I sat down and read it in one go and loved it. Sparse, beautiful and poignant, it was a lovely experience that I wasn’t expecting at all.

Favourite New Author?

This is a reeeally tough one, as I’ve found some amazing authors this year. But I think I’m going to go with Maggie Stiefvater (yes, I know I’m very late to this party!). Her writing is lyrical and her characters are just amazing. But more of that in a second…

Newest Fictional Crush?

RONAN F***ING LYNCH. As soon as my eyes met him on the page of The Raven Boys (Stiefvater) I knew I was in love. And she’s writing him his very own trilogy. My heart!!! Ah, what can I say. I like ’em mean, moody and totally messed up.

Newest Favourite Character?

This tag is brutal, isn’t it? Making me choose between all the amazing people I’ve read this year. Rude. I think I’m going to go for the fetus in Nutshell from Ian McEwan. Yes. The fetus. You heard.

Book That Made You Cry?

I haven’t actually cried at a book yet this year (yet…), so I’ll go for the one that packed the biggest emotional punch for me, and that was Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin. This was the one that brought me close to tears, and gave my heart a good old twist with every page. Stunning book that I highly HIGHLY recommend.

Book That Made You Happy?

I think it’s got to be You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour. This was the sweetest, fluffiest, happiest book I’ve read this year.

Favourite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year?

I cannot even remember what films I’ve seen this year! I’m sure there’s probably a good one, but I can’t think of it. So, I’m going to go with how much I love Death Note – both reading the manga and watching the anime – and leave it there!

Favourite Review You’ve Written This Year?

Hmmm, I may go with my review of The Essex Serpent for this one. It’s been such a prominent book, with a huge amount of hype, and I didn’t quite fall into it. Going deeper into the book and figuring out why it wasn’t a massive 5* for me was both fun and challenging too.

Most Beautiful Book You Bought So Far This Year?

Covers these days are absolutely gorgeous and I have bought some real stunners so far. However, I have pre-ordered the special edition of A Darker Shade of Magic which comes out in October and HOT DAYUM SO PRETTY THERE IS GOLD AND OMG.

What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of The Year?

All of them! I have so many books to get through, I just want to keep forging on. I still have 55 to read if I’m going to hit my target!

~

How has your reading year been so far? Fancy a go at this tag – then I tag YOU!

Leave a Reply

