Catch Up Time

Well hello.

Fancy seeing you here.

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

You’re looking well! How’s the wife?

~

Yes – I have returned! It may still be sporadic as I get my sleep-patterns re-adjusted to this strange thing called ‘work’, but I am somewhat back in business. If you’ve headed over to my Instagram lately (of course you have; you love me so much!), you might have a better picture of what’s happening (picture, get it? LOL). Even so, I thought I’d kick off my new round of blogging again with an update of how everything’s been going book-wise with me.

~

First, and probably the most important in the grandest scheme of things, is that I have a job in publishing! I’m so happy to be able to say that I am now an editorial assistant at an academic publishers – that I made it through my degree and into an editorial role, something that is notoriously difficult. And I get to work on some super interesting books, too.

I’m part of Routledge‘s Media and Cultural Studies department, meaning I get to read through and help publish manuscripts about everything from fashion to feminist film-making. All that variety makes for a pretty fascinating list, and I’m learning so much from both the job itself and the content of the books.

I can’t lie, it’s been tough. There’s been a lot of other stuff surrounding this job that has made it pretty challenging for me. Commuting is hard work, guys! Especially when it’s over two hours away from the husband and then an hour from where I’m staying. But I’m hoping to sort through that over the next couple of weeks, hopefully get back to being at home full-time again, and that will make things a lot easier.

Perhaps this job isn’t where I dreamed of being a few years ago, but it’s certainly giving me the push, the experience and the understanding that makes me realise just how much I love books – any kind of books – and how I believe there should be more of them in the world.

~

Secondly, I graduate on Friday! This is possibly the craziest thing that’s happening. Three years have just completely flown by and I’m already missing it. It’s been such an experience, I don’t even know where to start. So I’m not going to attempt it right now, and I’ll knock something together in the next week or so.

~

Reading update!

Obviously with some huge things going on at the moment, it’s been a little difficult for me to get proper reading done. I have slacked off considerably, in fact. But, as everything is starting to settle, I’m getting back into the swing of things, and should be able to break this increasing TBR pile that is threatening to consume me and everything I hold dear…

So, I should be able to get some reviews up and share some more bookish thoughts.

~

And to the blog as a whole. I think I’m going to shake things up around here over the next few weeks, which may mean some changes to how it looks and how things are laid out. I’ve liked having the blog how it is at the moment, but I think it’s time for something a little more chill.

~

So, that’s a quick summary of everything that’s been happening over the past couple of months. Hopefully it won’t be so long between posts this time round, and I can really get back into the swing of things. Can’t promise anything right now – but I will try!

What have you guys been up to? I’d love to know. And I’d love your suggestions on what you’d like to see on the blog too, or any suggestions on how I can make it allllllll prettyful. Let me know down below!

xx

3 Comments Add yours

  1. lynnefisher says:

    Congratulations on your big achievments!

    Like

    1. J A Vennall says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

