Wrap-up | April

After hearing nothing from me for a while, you’re going to be getting a few posts this week as I try to catch up with myself! First up is my wrap-up for April.

~

I’m starting to get back on track with my reading, although I’m still a little behind on things. But, this month, I did manage to read six books. So, let’s take a look at what they were.

~

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

This lovely science fiction novel is perfect escapism. I’m not a big science fiction reader, but this was a comfortable representation of the genre. It reminded me a lot of the television series Firefly (oh, how I miss that show!) in its cast of quirky characters who are each completely individual and wonderful. There’s a great level of diversity, too, which is always lovely to see. It was longlisted for the Arthur C Clarke award 2016 and rightly so – thoroughly enjoyable and well worth picking up.

 

Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin

I recently gave a full review of this book, which you can check out here. Safe to say, it is a highly unusual novel, but one that contains a huge amount of atmosphere and beautiful tension.

 

What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell

I’d been looking forward to getting my hands on this for a while, and was looking forward to reading it. After such high praise from various corners of the literary world, I wonder if perhaps my expectations were a little too high for it. The prose is very dense and complex, and I was left feeling underwhelmed by the depth of the story when in comparison with the weight of the writing. It is a deep, personal and very protagonist-centred novel – we really find out very little about Mitko, the prostitute the main character becomes involved in. Perhaps this is one of those novels that would benefit from a second read through to capture the things I might have missed first time around. Still, very thought-provoking and recommended if you like heavy literary prose.

 

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

I’m coming a bit late to this one! You’ll be able to see my full review posted soon. For now, I can say that I am still working through how I felt about it!

 

The Dog Who Dared to Dream by Sun-mi Hwang

I picked up this slim volume to help increase my diverse reading. Originally published in South Korea and translated by Chi-Young Kim, this is a sweet little book about a dog. It deals with themes of friendship and motherhood, and is a lovely book to while away a couple of hours one afternoon.

 

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

I’ve been reading through this one for a while now, and have finally come to the end. Again, I’ll be posting a fuller review later this month. It’s a good set up for the fantasy series that followed. It’s pretty heavy on the explanations of everything – how the magic works and the politics – so I’m hoping that later books will be a little more stripped back in this and just focus on the plot and the characters.

~

That’s my April all wrapped up! I’m also half-way through the audiobook of The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood, but still have a couple more days to get through yet. It’s good (obviously, it’s Atwood), but I’m finding it difficult to make time to listen to audiobooks at the moment.

Overall, it’s been another good month and I’m looking forward to getting stuck into some new titles in May.

Have you read any of these books? How was your reading month? Let me know down below!

 

Leave a Reply

