Reading Goals 2017

Now that I’ve looked back over the previous year of reading, it’s time to look forward to what I hope 2017 has in store for my reading list. After such a good run last year, I’m starting out ambitiously…

~

I managed to get through a total of 73 books in 2017. That’s a huge achievement for someone who used to struggle to get through 5 books a year. I’m super proud of myself for making it through, and it was definitely trying new ways and approaches to reading that helped me get through that number.

That and my internship required I read a LOT of books over the summer.

With that in mind, I decided to go all out. Part of me wanted to set my total reads of 2017 at 80 – a nice round number after the 73. It’s a higher number, an achievable target.

But no. I decided to set my total book reading total to 100.

Go big or go home, right?

So that’s my overall target for the year: 100 books. That works out at around eight books a month, which doesn’t really seem a lot when you think about it. I’m going to give it a really good try.

~

Next up, is one that appears to be on a lot of people’s reading goals this year and that is to read more diversely. I’ve read a lot of LGBTQ* books this year for a project, but I’d like to read a lot more.

As well as that, I’d like to read from more diverse backgrounds and nationalities. I have read some books from non-white authors in the past, but not in any volume, so I’d really like to add a good number to my TBR this year.

I did pretty well to read different types of books in 2016 too, but I’d like to expand on that. I read some graphic novels and mangas, audiobooks and ebooks. So I want to read more of them. I also stopped focusing on specific genres to read and found some amazing books, so I’m going to keep doing that too.

Hopefully, that should all lead to a much more diverse reading list.

(I tend to already read a lot of female authors, so I’m going to monitor that, but not make it a specific goal this year).

~

I’d also really like to read more classics this year. There are so many iconic books that I know of but have never tried to read that I really, really should. I’m thinking maybe a classic a month is a realistic goal that ensures I get a full, varied read throughout the year.

~

I think that about covers it for my 2017 reading goals. The overall target stands as I main one, as it really would be a major achievement to read that many books for me, so that’s what I’m going to stick to. Anything else is a bonus, really.

What are your reading goals this year? Do you have any? I’d love to know what they are!

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

