Christmas Book Haul 

Here’s a little post, just to fill you in on the beautiful new books I received this holiday season. 

~

Because this year has been such a wonderful revelation for me (although, if my heroes could stop dying, that’d be great) and my full-attack passion for everything book related seems to have exploded out of me, I asked that my gifts this year be focused on that – cue a lot of gorgeous books and book related gifts! All of them look so stunning, and I’m so excited to get stuck in for 2017 and kick my reading year off with these beauties. 

In no particular order:

Armada by Ernest Cline

This year, I finally read ‘Ready Player One’ for a readathon I did back in June. I absolutely loved that book and wanted to get my hands on another Ernest cline almost immediately. Granted, it’s been a couple of months, but I’m so happy to have this now!


The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

First: a woman writer writing sci-fi. Second: queer characters. Third: so many amazing reviews for this book. And the sequel came out this year too, so I have to get my skates on and read this.


The Dispossessed by Ursula le Guin

I adore le Guin’s science fiction. I’ve read a couple of books from the Hainish Cycle and so I now need them all, starting with this – the first. Along with ‘The Left Hand of Darkness’ this is pretty much a classic.


Mythago Wood by Robert Haldstock

A fantasy classic, this time. I was recommended this back in January, I think, so really pleased I have it now. 


The Art of Hearing Heartbeats by Jan-Phillipp Sendker

I’ve actually had this on my list for a while, so I was surprised to see it, but pleased. I think it’s going to be one of those lazy Sunday afternoon reads that you just need to have to hand, should the rain be pouring a little too hard. 


The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

I now have all the Hogarth Shakespeare retellings that have been released thus far and I’m so happy about that! This was the first to be published and is Winterson’s version of ‘A Winter’s Tale’ – infamously exited pursued by bear…


Barkskins by Annie Proulx

This large volume has appeared on a lot of lists for 2016’s best books and I am thrilled to have it. 


The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

Waterstone’s Christmas number one and one of the bestselling books of the year, I finally get to read what the fuss is about!


The North Water by Ian McGuire

One of two Man Booker titles here, this has to be one of the most stunning hardback covers. Dark and dangerous, I’m really looking forward to sinking my teeth into this one. 


His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnett

Shortlisted for the MB 2016, this is one I really, really wanted to get my hands on. Another dark and gripping tale for my collection. 


Fen by Daisy Johnson

A collection of short stories all centred around a single landscape. I saw some wonderful reviews of this on BookTube, and, again, the cover is stunning!


Weathering by Lucy Wood

I was lucky to hear Lucy speak at this year’s Bath Literature Festival, and her reading and explanation of the book meant I went and popped it straight on my wish list. 


Nutshell by Ian McEwan

A story told by a baby who hasn’t even been born yet. I don’t think I need to explain any more, do I?

~

That’s my haul! 

What did you all get in your very large stocking this year? Have you read any of the books on my list? Let me know down below. And keep an eye out next week for my Year in Books 2016. 

Happy Holidays and have a great New Year xx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. mahreecell says:

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list. I have Armada on my tbr shelf and I’d like to read that soon. I keep hearing about Becky Chambers’ The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and God, I am so absolutely hyped for that book. I’m waiting for next month tho to make another purchase so I don’t have that on my shelf yet.

    Like

    1. J A Vennall says:

      I’m really looking forward to getting to reading them. I have a lot of other books to work my way through atm, but so excited for the Becky Chambers.
      Keep me posted on if you get to them! X

      Like

  2. So many pretty covers! I read Nutshell recently and really enjoyed it, and given how much everyone seems to love The Essex Serpent, I’m definitely intrigued.

    Like

    1. J A Vennall says:

      I read McEwan a few years ago and haven’t picked up anything by him since, even though I loved it, so really excited for Nutshell!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve read a few of his works and they were all completely different, yet equally intriguing in their own ways, so he seems quite the chameleon when it comes to writing style.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

